What The Juice?!?

25 May

As you may or may not know, I’m a bit of a n00b where this blogging lark is concerned.

So I’m a bit bamboozzled by the spam comment folder i just discovered, courtesy of this blog (thanks!)

Firstly, I’m a bit peeved and very sorry that i missed some genuine comments.

Secondly…what the juice?!? What do they want/expect to gain? Do they just want me to check out their sites? Their English isn’t too great either…who are they?

Here’s a (small!) sample:

  • Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness in your publish is just cool and that i could suppose you are knowledgeable in this subject. Well with your permission allow me to snatch your feed to keep updated with impending post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please continue the gratifying work.
  • My brother suggested I might like this website. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!
  • I needed to create you that little observation to say thank you as before over the unique tricks you have provided here. This has been tremendously open-handed with you to convey publicly what most of us could possibly have offered for an e-book to help make some money for themselves, even more so considering the fact that you might have tried it in case you wanted. Those concepts in addition served to be the great way to be aware that most people have a similar dreams the same as my personal own to know somewhat more with reference to this problem. I’m sure there are many more pleasant moments ahead for people who browse through your blog post.

What?!

12 Responses to “What The Juice?!?”

  1. William May 25, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    They want to either trick you into thinking there is something legitimate to see or draw you in out of curiosity. Many scam sites have forms for whatever to get you to leave an e-mail address so they can bombard your’e e-mail with crap and some other tricks to be able to bombard you with crap or trick a password out of you to hack your stuff

    • fringewalk May 25, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      Oh. And there was me thinking i was bloody amazing! πŸ˜₯ Teehee x

      • William May 25, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

        for the record you Are πŸ™‚

      • fringewalk May 25, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

        Yo be careful else you end up accidently banished to the spam folder! ;P x

      • William May 25, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

        I’ve been called many things, but never Spam …lol

      • fringewalk May 25, 2012 at 9:12 pm #


        :p

  2. roughseasinthemed May 25, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Wait !! we have the same commentors !! I do check my spam box regularly for ‘real’ people. And rescue them. I’ve never even thought to add it to my tips as I thought is was an obvious one 😦

    William above is spot on. And the other one is advertising, if someone hits on it (if you publish it) then they also visit their site.

    I have my html links down to one (check it out in settings somewhere or whatever) which is why sometimes genuine comments land up there. But easy enough to sort. A quick glance, a load of rubbish names, and ping! empty spam πŸ™‚

    • fringewalk May 25, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

      I thought he really loved me 😦 lol
      Good plan, i shall follow your excellent example, thanks πŸ˜€

  3. elmediat May 26, 2012 at 3:44 am #

    Spam, like real advertisements, works on the principle of sheer number. Hit enough people often enough and it will justify a return. The spammers are also less ethical and may be attempting to access confidential info. When I first started blogging the phantom referrers drove me nuts, so I created some posts & digital art to get rid of negative energy. Fortunately they are not such a problem anymore. If you spot any, just notify support and they zap them. Keep on blogging. It can be a very personally enriching experience. πŸ™‚

    • fringewalk May 26, 2012 at 7:43 am #

      Thanks πŸ™‚ Glad it’s not so bad anymore…i’ve been blissfully unaware since starting this blog a couple weeks ago…so the wordpress elves must be doin a good job :))

  4. socialassassin May 26, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    The vagaries of WordPress spam filters continue to confuse me a year on from my start – one minute regular commenters appear with no problem, then they get the spam bin!! But do check that folder regularly, since you can not only rescue errant comments but have a great time marvelling at a whole world of bad grammar, spelling errors and ridiculous entreaties!!!

    • fringewalk May 27, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      Haha, yus, defo worth a giggle! thanks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

